Tags

, , , , , , ,

the reader schlink

A man narrates his story of passion, love and regrets but always with shame and sadness.  The Reader shakes your morals and makes you think twice about your notion of goodness and kindness.

  • may-december love affair
  • indifference
  • post world war II setting
  • forgiveness and remorse
  • suicide
  • reconcillation

 

I ponder on:

How do men think?

It’s not what men think about that puzzles me, it’s how they weigh things and make decisions that makes me wonder.  Both sides of the sexes have been throwing this question to each other, yet no matter how much I try to pretend I understand men,  I still want to pry their brains and fish out the pieces that make them tick.  Setting aside the testosterone, I wonder if we can think alike.  Just a thought anyways.

There’s a fine thread between pride and shame.

Pride keeps us standing erectus.  It gives our back bone the strength to maintain a head held high and squared shoulders.  However this air of amor propio when taken too far is just a hard mask for a deep hidden shame.  We all have our secrets and sometimes it’s that same locked up secret that fuels our pride.  Pride and shame are the two very powerful qualities.  Sometimes it’s hard to tell them apart.

How does forgiveness work?

In our own sense of justice, does peace of mind come after you are forgiven or must you forgive yourself first before you feel you were forgiven?  I’m the kind of person who needs to forgive myself first before I feel relieved of my faults.  It seems easier this way.  Not everyone will be able to forgive you, but you could always forgive yourself.

This book is a very deep read, one I cant connect to at my current level of emotional maturity.  Definitely something worth rereading so I could identify with the  author’s attempt to touch my sensibilities.

